I know alot of people who uses the word "stupid" incorrectly, and it's kinda sad .
There is a huuuuuuuge difference between ignorance and stupidity .
Lets start with the definitions(via www.dictionary.com) :
stupid : Marked by a lack of intelligence or care; foolish or careless
ignorant : Lacking in knowledge or training; unlearned
So here's pretty much the difference, if you are "stupid", you do what you do dispite the fact that you know better, you do not use logic in making your decisions .
if you are "ignorant" you do what you do because you do not know any better .
It bothers me when people say "oh, you are so stupid" because you asked a question about something you had no knowlegde about.
The word "ignorant" sounds like a bigger insult that being called stupid .
#justsaying :)
I shall give you an example , Sally is in class and she ask her teacher "Mister, do I have to save it on the disk and the desktop" and since the rest of the class is already informed that you should save it on both, proceed to calling Sally, "Stupid Sally" but kids, Sally is not stupid Sally is just ignorant :)
*--soniahh
There is no such word as "alot." I think you mean "a lot." It's two separate words.
ReplyDeleteI believe "stupid" is more than a lack of intelligence or care. It's much worse. Stupidity is a lack of *ability* to understand concepts or to reason.
P.S. Sally could also be hard of hearing or perhaps she was not paying attention.